Playful Workout

!cid_AA8FE9C0C26041FA97CAFD4360324D51@kw44e0183dc696

This week I was talking to a good friend on the phone, who is suffering some symptoms that could be helped with a simple exercise routine. But he won’t because he doesn’t like to exercise. I replied, “Well, of course, who does”? Actually my son Kendall LOVES to exercise. He gets a rush from doing half marathons, tough mudders and pumping iron.

But I don’t particularly enjoy exercise. The only way I get though it is to multi task, by doing something I enjoy at the same time. Things like reading, listenting to an audio book, watching a movie, listening to music, and doing a little dance, are ways I pamper myself while I sweat.

But, the other thing that keeps me going is the knowledge that there is a health benefit with exercise. There are lots of things I do for the health benefit. I eat healthy things that I don’t always eat for the taste because of the health benefit. I avoid a lot of sweet, lovely tasting things, because of the health benefit (and the loss of health hazard). I take nutritional supplements; A LOT of nutritional supplements, not because I enjoy swallowing a lot of pills, but I do it for the health benefit.

Last week, I posted about the ultimate exercise – Rebounding. I think rebounding is fun. It’s playful, nurturing, and makes me feel like a little kid again. But if that’s not your thing, you need to figure out some ways to get your body moving. The more you age, the more true the saying is, “If you don’t use it, you lose it.”

Next week I will be getting a lot of exercise dancing to the Blues at the Kitchener Blues Festival. If you can’t join me dancing, what are some creative ways you can have fun and experience the health benefits of exercise?

One of the other drawbacks to exercise is time. That is not one of my problems, but for many with full time jobs, it is. People simply don’t make time for exercise. But again with creativity, you can work in your work out in the nooks and crannies of your life.

On USANA’s blog this week is a great post from celebrity fitness trainer, Kathy Kaehler, on creative ways you can “Feel Fab in Five.”

http://whatsupusana.com/2014/07/feelfabin5/

Be Well.

Ken Waite
http://www.Click2Health.usana.com

Leave a Reply

